« February 2013 »
Mission Statement
Temple Shalom is an embracing, supportive, vibrant community which is committed to observing Conservative Judaism in a contemporary and progressive tradition and which is devoted to the continuation of Jewish values, education and culture. Temple Shalom honors the diversity of its members and is dedicated to their spiritual, intellectual, and religious growth.



 You are cordially invited to our FUNdraiser Purim Shpiel*

(*a silly play used to enhance your celebration of the holiday)


this centuries-old tradition transports us into the future …


Immerse yourself in the adventures of the crew of the Yentaprise, as they save the small Jewish colony on the planet Hebron from the evil clutches of the Klingon Prime Minister, Haman!


Sunday, March 1, 2015 at 7:00pm

Admission: $10 adults; $7 children (12 and under)

our kitchen will also offer (for a small donation) Purim-Themed

refreshments, baked goods, soft drinks, coffee & tea!


You may pre-reserve your seat/s by sending in a check (payable to Temple Shalom)

to: 233 Valley Road, Middletown, RI 02842.

Please include your name & phone number, so we have a way to contact you. Pre-Reserved Tickets may be picked up at the Pre-Show Reception. Tickets will also be available at the door.



====     ====     ====     ====     ====     ====     ====     ==== 




It is sometimes necessary to cancel a meeting, an activity or worship due to inclement weather. If we do cancel, an email will be sent to the Congregation; a message will be left on the Temple phone and will appear on local media. Because many of our congregants have to travel a distance to reach the Temple it is imperative that we give serious consideration to these members. At no time do we want to put any of our members in peril. The safety of each and every individual is the focus of our decision to cancel. Please be understanding and stay home when conditions warrant doing so.


====     ====     ====     ====     ====     ====     ====     ====


The Newport County Jewish Community invites you to join us at the movies…

11th Annual Aquidneck Island Jewish Film Series

Films moderated by Dr. Jeffrey Martin, Professor of Theater, RogerWilliams University.  Commentary and discussion following.  Soda, candy, and, of course, popcorn.

Admission is free – but donations are gratefully accepted!


Sunday, March 22, 2015 at 1:30 PM

The Matchmaker - 2012; 112 minutes

hosted by Touro Synagogue

at the Levi Gale House

85 Touro Street, Newport